What Are the Top Compliance Certificates?

Blog / What Are the Top Compliance Certificates?

What is a Certificate of Compliance?

A certificate of compliance is a contractual paper verifying that specific criteria have been accomplished. It is a formal declaration that an individual or organization has met a set of requirements.

Certificates of compliance are granted for various reasons, and depending on the subject; they are usually prepared and signed by official institutions. The primary purpose for the request for these certifications is to meet a legal need for obtaining permission to carry out an activity or complete a business transaction. They're quite frequent in the real estate and public utility businesses. When a realtor guides a client in closing a property sale, the federal or state government may require multiple conformity certifications to ensure the property's functionality and safety. They could also be used as a form of credibility. 


Why is a Certificate of Compliance required?

Many countries demand a Certificate of Compliance before transferring imported goods to ensure they meet all compliance obligations. A Certificate of Compliance is offered to products that satisfy approved international standards. The CoC is then submitted at the location during Customs clearance so that they can be cleared for shipment.

Banking, insurance and investment firms must comply with several rules and regulations. There are federal and state rules and legislation in the United States alone. The FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation), for example, sets different criteria on members to maintain coverage, such as conducting regular bank exams. The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, established in 2010, bans some investing activity, enforces payment card limitations, and imposes a slew of other regulations. 



Top Compliance Certificates 

Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialist (CAMS)

Institutions, governments, and regulators all across the globe regard CAMS as the gold standard in AML certifications. Anti-money laundering focuses on preventing money from moving to and from criminals, terrorists, and those recognized by the authorities. This accreditation is not available to everyone; candidates must have relevant professional experience, provide industry references, and meet other prerequisites.

The Benefits of CAMS Financial crime has dominated the news in recent years, and the focus has shifted to compliance. CAMS is a globally recognized certification that explains the fundamentals of money laundering and how to avoid it. Individuals and groups can transform in as little as three months.

The Certified Community Bank Compliance Officer (CCBCO)

The Certified Community Bank Compliance Officer (CCBCO) certification is a mark of proficiency in the field of banking compliance. Earners of this credential exhibit a thorough grasp of the criteria for developing, implementing, and monitoring a regulatory-compliant bank compliance program. CCBCOs are experts in TRID, UDAAP, HMDA, RESPA, Fair Housing Act, Consumer Privacy, Reg GG, E-Sign Act, Right to Financial Privacy, and other areas of regulatory requirements. 


Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification is one of the most prestigious and well-known in the field of information security. There are 141,607 people with this qualification globally as of July 1, 2020, with 63 percent residing in the United States. It is in high demand because many IT organizations consider it a minimum qualification for their network security staff.

You must have five years of work background in two of the eight listed categories to be qualified to take the test that offers this compliance certification. If you have a four-year university degree or a recognized credential or qualification, you can also complete the criterion to take the exam with four years of experience. Finally, by consenting to the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics, you must explain all criminal records or connections with hackers.

The exam’s format is as follows:

  • $699 exam fee
  • Only 75 questions are scored at a time 
  • If the system predicts a pass rate of 95% or higher, the test will consist of 100 questions with a pass rate of 95% or higher.
  • If the algorithm predicts that the test taker will fail 95 percent of the time or more, it will re-evaluate the test taker every question until 150 questions have been completed.
  • Each new ranked question asked after 100 replaces one of the 75 graded questions initially asked.


Certified Compliance and Ethics Professional (CCEP)

The Compliance Certification Board (CCB) is an examination company that certifies compliance and ethical expertise in various sectors and professions. They provide a variety of certifications, some of which cover broad principles while others are based on a particular subject.

The Certified Compliance and Ethics Professional (CCEP) is one of the certifications they provide. By concentrating on broad-based compliance activities, achieving this certification increases your reputation as a compliance specialist inside your firm.

To take the test and acquire this certification, one must have:

  • At least one year of full-time compliance experience or 1,500 hours of direct compliance assigned tasks during the preceding two years.
  • The CCB approved 20 continuing education units (CEUs).

The exam’s format is as follows:

  • Associates of the Society of Corporate Compliance and Ethics (SCCE) or the Health Care Compliance Association (HCCA) pay $275; non-members pay $375
  • 115 multiple-choice questions 
  • 100 questions are evaluated

How to Get CFCS Certificate?

You Might Also Like